Northwood Village

Welcome to Northwood Village.

.

The Village lies to the south of the Town of Cowes on the Isle of Wight (see map). This area has been occupied for nearly 1,000 years as documented in Anne Brooker’s article.

.

The Village has a school (Northwood Primary School), a church (St John the Baptist) and the W.I. Hall that is used by many organisations.

.

To find more of the Village amenities use the Village Map and click on the markers to see images of the locations.

.

The Village People section holds information on some of the current and former residents of the Village. Some people are famous, some are not but they all have a story to tell and a common link to the Village of Northwood.

 

Useful Telephone Numbers

Citizens’ Advice Bureau (IW) 520594/08451202959
Childline 0800 1111
Crimestoppers 0800 555 111
Ferries – Red Funnel 0844 844 9988
Ferries – WightLink 0871 376 1000
Gas Escapes 0800 111 999
Hospital – St Mary’s 524081
IW Council 821000
IW Councillor – Northwood (John Nicholson) 209642
IW MP (Andrew Turner) 530808
IW Police 0845 045 45 45
Library, Cowes 293341
Medical Centre, Cowes 295251
Northwood Church (The Rev’d Amanda Collinson) 294913
Northwood Garage 296031/297217
Northwood News (Peter Lambert) 526385
Northwood Stores 293662
Northwood W.I. (Fay Bunday) 296081
Northwood Playgroup 289717
Post Office, Pallance Road 293794
School – Cowes Enterprise College 203103
School – Cowes Primary 293261
School – Hunnyhill Primary 522506
School – Lanesend Primary 293233
School – Northwood Primary 293392
Southern Vectis Lost Property 827000
Southern Water 0845 278 0845

 

 

 

Village News

 

Report from I.W. Councillor John Nicholson

The Report appearing in the March 2018 edition of Northwood News.

 

Cowes Primary School

School Governor vacancies

 

21st Brighstone Christmas Tree Festival

See how much was raised for local and national charities.

 

Motor Neurone Disease (MND) Association – IOW Branch

Fourteenth Annual Antiques and Collectors Fair

 

Report from I.W. Councillor John Nicholson

The Report appearing in the February 2018 edition of Northwood News.

 

More news...

Village Diary

 

Northwood Floral Art Group
Monday, 26th February 2018

Monthly Meeting at 7.30pm

 

Northwood W.I.
Thursday, 1st March 2018

Monthly Meeting at 2.00pm

 

CREEA – Cowes Radar Ex-Employees Association
Thursday, 8th March 2018

SPEAKER: PAUL ENGLAND –
“Looking Up Into the Night Sky”

 

Motor Neurone Disease (MND) Association – IOW Branch
Sunday, 11th March 2018

Fourteenth Annual Antiques and Collectors Fair

 

Trinity Theatre, Cowes
Saturday, 17th March 2018

St Patrick’s Ceilidh

 

Newport Jazz Club – Jazz at the Apollo
Sunday, 18th March 2018

with the Roger Marks Cornish Armada Jazz Band.

 

CLOCKS GO FORWARD
Saturday, 24th March 2018

at a clock near you …

 

Northwood Floral Art Group
Monday, 26th March 2018

Monthly Meeting at 7.30pm

 

Northwood W.I.
Thursday, 5th April 2018

Monthly Meeting at 2.00pm

 

CREEA – Cowes Radar Ex-Employees Association
Thursday, 12th April 2018

SPEAKER: ASH GIBBS –
“The Ellen MacArthur Cancer Trust”

 

Northwood Village Produce Association
Friday, 13th April 2018

Monthly Meeting at 2.00pm.

 

Northwood Floral Art Group
Monday, 23rd April 2018

Monthly Meeting at 7.30pm

 

Northwood W.I.
Thursday, 3rd May 2018

Monthly Meeting at 2.00pm

 

CREEA – Cowes Radar Ex-Employees Association
Thursday, 10th May 2018

SPEAKER: MARIA WARD –
“My Art, My Life”

 

Northwood Village Produce Association
Friday, 11th May 2018

Monthly Meeting at 2.00pm.

 

Community Quiz
Saturday, 12th May 2018

in aid of Layla’s Trust

 

Northwood Floral Art Group
Monday, 28th May 2018

Monthly Meeting at 7.30pm

 

Northwood W.I.
Thursday, 7th June 2018

Monthly Meeting at 2.00pm

 

Northwood Village Produce Association
Friday, 8th June 2018

Monthly Meeting at 2.00pm.

 

CREEA – Cowes Radar Ex-Employees Association
Thursday, 14th June 2018

SPEAKER: MITCH JONES –
“A Beefeater”

 

Northwood Floral Art Group
Monday, 25th June 2018

Monthly Meeting at 7.30pm

 

Northwood W.I.
Thursday, 5th July 2018

Monthly Meeting at 2.00pm

 

Northwood Village Produce Association
Sunday, 22nd July 2018

72nd Annual Show

 

Northwood Floral Art Group
Monday, 23rd July 2018

Monthly Meeting at 7.30pm

 

Northwood W.I.
Thursday, 2nd August 2018

Monthly Meeting at 2.00pm

 

Northwood W.I.
Thursday, 6th September 2018

Monthly Meeting at 2.00pm

 

CREEA – Cowes Radar Ex-Employees Association
Thursday, 13th September 2018

SPEAKER: JOEL BATEMAN –
“AONB” – to be confirmed

 

Northwood Village Produce Association
Friday, 14th September 2018

Monthly Meeting at 2.00pm.

 

Northwood Floral Art Group
Monday, 24th September 2018

Monthly Meeting at 7.30pm

 

Northwood W.I.
Thursday, 4th October 2018

Monthly Meeting at 2.00pm

 

CREEA – Cowes Radar Ex-Employees Association
Thursday, 11th October 2018

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING
followed by QUIZ

 

Northwood Village Produce Association
Friday, 12th October 2018

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

 

Northwood Floral Art Group
Monday, 22nd October 2018

Monthly Meeting at 7.30pm

 

Northwood W.I.
Thursday, 1st November 2018

Monthly Meeting at 2.00pm

 

CREEA – Cowes Radar Ex-Employees Association
Thursday, 8th November 2018

SPEAKER: TERRY BUTCHERS –
“My Experiences as a County Councillor”

 

Northwood Floral Art Group
Saturday, 17th November 2018

Christmas Show

 

Northwood Floral Art Group
Monday, 26th November 2018

Monthly Meeting at 7.30pm

 

Northwood W.I.
Thursday, 6th December 2018

Christmas Lunch

 

CREEA – Cowes Radar Ex-Employees Association
Wednesday, 12th December 2018

CHRISTMAS LUNCH
– venue and time to be confirmed.

 

Northwood Floral Art Group
Monday, 28th January 2019

Monthly Meeting at 7.30pm
Annual General Meeting

 

Past entries...

Village Forum Latest

 

Forum closed
Tuesday, 1st January 2013 - No Comments

 

More forum posts...

  • Village Forum
  • Northwood Village Map
  • Village News
  • Village Diary
  • Village Diary (past)
  • Village History
  • Local I.W. Councillor
  • Village Photo Gallery
  • Village People
  • Natural History
  • Local Links
  • Community Partnership
  • Local Groups and Clubs
  •